Final Crunch

We have arrived at final week of the project. So, what can I say about this so far?, I have gotten to know my teammates and how our group dynamic works. I have learned a few tricks while having to do all these animations due to the camera angle of our game (asymmetric). Also what happened due to our planning and my personal work plan.

As usual an overhaul was a part of the project because we could not get it to work with the original idea. The original idea was to draw ice with your finger on a touch pad and then tilt it to guide the penguins across the ice. But the sliding turned out to be way more fun than the ice creating it self. Therefore a new game play was created. Now the game is for 2-4 players. You play as one of four mothers fighting over one baby penguin.

My hands have been tied with the animations pretty much, which is a lot of work but visually, all you get on screen is four penguins doing a few things. It is still very important since a game without movement would be pretty dull. The downside to this is that another team member got to do the various things like title screens and HUD, everything else a player will see on screen. My style guide was not followed either so now we have to communicate better and make sure the rest of the game wont look like different people made it. Even tho not all the aspects of the making is fun I still learn something new to bring to my next project. Okey, so lets have a look at my work the last couple of weeks;

4

red yellow

As the penguin falls into the water while trying to get the baby it gets distraught and “drowns” There is one animation per penguin, red, blue, yellow and green.

D-_Save-the-penguins_Arrow-for-penguin

There is an arrow pointing to the mother currently in possession of the baby.

rocket

A rocket for fireworks when someone won

trailer

I also animated a short sequence for the trailer during an evening. As with everything else I wish more time could be spent. Photoshop did something to the file while saving the gif so the original one does not have the stripes across and better quality.

Watch trailer here!

That is some of the things I have done, the penguins were all remade in to 4 colors of all the animations and the “drowning animations” was added. Next step is the respawn animation. They are going to fall from the sky and smack in to the ground.

That is all for now folks! See you at GGC

Leave a comment